1 Comment

Exciting day tomorrow!

Hey there!

I am sooo excited that the photo session we have had to postpone for the past few weeks is finally going to happen tomorrow!   Woo hoo!  So today I spent the afternoon doing laundry and ironing the love nugget’s outfits for this event.  It’s crazy how long it takes to iron his little shirts!  Luckily he took a nice long nap after our busy morning so I was able to get it all done without having to monitor him constantly.  I was also able to plan out and prep for dinner tonight which turned out to be delicious!

I wanted to make a ginger soy type salmon recipe and ended up adding oranges which created the perfect harmony of flavors.  I took a before picture but forgot to take an after picture and it was gone before I had a chance to snap one!

Ginger, Orange, Soy Salmon

1 tbsp orange zest

1/2 cup of freshly squeezed orange juice

1/4 cup of reduced sodium soy sauce

1 clove of garlic chopped

1 tbsp grated ginger

2 tbsp agave nectar

2 pieces of salmon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Whisk together all ingredients.   Place salmon in a baking dish and pour 1/4 of the mixture over the salmon and set aside to marinate for an hour or more.  Reserve remaining marinade.  Once salmon is placed in the oven to bake, pour reserved marinade into a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer, whisking occasionally until slightly thickened and reduced.  Bake salmon for 20-25 minutes or opaque in color.   Top salmon with reduced marinade and enjoy over quinoa or brown rice.

The love nugget had a new meal tonight for dinner as well.  He wasn’t really loving the quinoa black bean nuggets I made for him the night before.  So I decided to make him a quesadilla using these, broccoli and some cheddar cheese.  He loved them!  I just threw the ingredients I had on hand on top of a whole wheat sprouted tortilla, added some cheese and heated in a non stick frying pan.  He loved it!  You can’t really tell by the serious look on his face.  He was so into eating his food that he didn’t want to look up and smile at me!

Off to bed to try to read a chapter or two of my book before catching some shut-eye.  Hope everyone has a great night!

One comment on “Exciting day tomorrow!

  1. This recipe looks delicious. I think agave is the best find I’ve had in years! I can’t wait to try this dish.

    Erin – ekcantcook.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

