Leave a comment

A baking day

Hi folks!

Hope everyone is having wonderful day today.

Today for some reason our day started off on the wrong foot.  You know those mornings where everything seems to go wrong?  Well, it was one of those mornings over here!  First, the love nugget woke up in one of his moods.  Needy and grumpy.  So rather than getting to enjoy my cup of coffee while he drank his milk then played like usual, we went straight from milk to the high chair for breakfast.  He had his usual, blueberries and peach pancakes and I had two egg whites scrambled with some kale and goat cheese, wrapped in a tortilla.  We both also had some more of those yummy strawberries.

Breakfast went well but after breakfast was where it went downhill fast.  While doing the dishes I sprayed water all over my clothes and had to go change.  Then, the love nugget decided he didn’t want to be put down, at all, so every time I tried to set him on the floor to get ready he threw a fit.  When we were finally ready and trying to get out the door, the white coyote refused to go outside so I had to chase him around the house until he finally moved his butt out the door.  With the love nugget in my hands I grabbed my full water bottle and realized the lid was not screwed on completely so it fell out of my hands, onto the floor and spilled everywhere.  While trying to clean it up and keep the love nugget out of it, he slipped and fell crying even more.  Then to top it off, once we were finally out the door and almost on our way I went to shut the hatch back on the car and it was stuck to the garage!  Seriously!!!!  Luckily all I had to do was pull the car forward a little bit more but it was just one thing after another this morning.  Thank goodness I got in a great workout at SS and sweat out a lot of my frustrations.

The love nugget has been taking really long naps when we get home from our morning errands.  He usually falls asleep in the car on the way home then sleeps for a good 2 – 2 1/2 hours longer.  This is great for me except that the past week when it is time for his second nap, he fights to stay awake even though it’s obvious he’s tired.  I was getting worried that he was growing out of that second nap so I planned to wake him up today after an hour.  Luckily he awoke on his own after about an hour and just in time for lunch.  Today I baked some salmon while he was napping for the two of us to have for lunch.  He had it with some corn and sweet potatoes and I added mine to a kale salad with goat cheese, quinoa, chickpeas and sunflower seeds.

While the love nugget was eating (he eats forever!), I decided to try out a few new recipes I had seen on Chocolate Covered Katie.   Every few weeks I get the urge to bake something.  The hubby hates it and loves it because I’ll eat one or two of whatever I make and he eats the rest.  I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before but he has a huge sweet tooth!

So, when I saw this recipe and discovered each cookie had only 70 calories!  I knew I had to try them but, I omitted the white sugar and added 1 teaspoon of nustevia powder.

The Best Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

healthy chocolate cookies

This picture is of the cookies that Katie posted….  This is what mine look like…

While they don’t look as pretty as hers, they still taste good!

They turned out to be pretty yummy!!!  I think it might have been because I didn’t have oat flour on hand so I used ground oat flour and it might have not been ground all the way.  Oh well, as long as they taste good right?

On her blog, I also found this recipe for Mini-Chocolate-Chip Breakfast Cookies.   I thought it looked like a good recipe to modify for a yummy breakfast treat for the love nugget.  So I came up with this…

Peanut Butter Oat Drops

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup all natural peanut butter

1/2 cup mashed banana (1 banana is usually 1/2 cup mashed)

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

pinch of sea salt

4 tbsp freeze-dried strawberries ( I had just bought some at Target earlier so I used these but you could use any freeze-dried or dried fruit)

Mash together peanut butter and banana.  Add in the rest of the ingredients and mix well.  The mixture will be wet and sticky like so…

Spoon or use a cookie scoop to drop onto a greased cookie sheet.  Bake for 12-14 minutes then allow to cool on the cookie sheet.

The love nugget, like his mom and dad, is such a peanut butter fan so he loved these!

After lunch we headed outside for some more water play and watermelon.

The love nugget loved that he got his own piece and was ecstatic when I gave him a second one!  He cruised around eating and sucking the juices out of them forever!

I brought him in after a while of playing thinking he would be tuckered out and ready for a nap.  Well… hoping he would be ready for a nap.  He played in his crib for 30 minutes before finally falling asleep.  Woo hoo!  He hasn’t grown out of the second nap yet!

So after a frustrating morning, we had a pretty good day.   The hubby is bike riding tonight so I’m hoping to have dinner ready by the time he gets home.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers

