Leave a comment

Weekend recap

Oh my goodness what a busy, fun weekend!  We started our weekend off Friday with dinner with some good friends we hadn’t seen in too long.  I made Ginger, Orange, Soy Salmon and the hubby grilled it on a cedar plank.  It was even better than the first time I made it!  They brought a really yummy salad and some fresh fruit.  For dessert I tried out a new recipe I’ve been wanting to make for some time.  Mini Coconut lime cream cakes from pure2raw.  They were very good and we put the leftovers in the freezer to pop out for a cold after dinner treat!

Saturday we woke up super early to take my car into the shop.  It’s been making a strange noise and it just so happened on my way to drop it off the check engine light came on.  Perfect timing!  We ran a few errands before heading off to a birthday party.  The love nugget enjoyed playing in the sand box for the first time and splashing around in the pool.

Came home so the love nugget could nap for a few hours, then off to our second birthday party of the day.  It was one of the nugget’s best buddies 1st birthday so all his boys were there.  They are just so cute together!

They had so much fun splashing in the water and then enjoying the yummy dinner that were made for them.  The love nugget just had to have one of his own fruit skewers.  He is such a big boy lately!

The hostess did an amazing job and even made special treats for the babies.

I think the love nugget REALLY liked his cupcake!

It was such a fun, busy day and the love nugget was partied out by the time we got home.

This morning we woke up and were supposed to go for a 5 mile run but decided to get a few things done around the house and postpone it for tomorrow.  I felt a little guilty for skipping the run but I got some party stuff done so it was worth it.

Since the love nugget wasn’t born on his due date last year, this was my first mother’s day.

When the hubby asked me what I wanted to do today, I said I wanted to go to IKEA to get some new frames for our house.  I had been wanting to do this for a while and this was the first day we had free to do so.  We were going to try to go grab something healthy for lunch and then go out to a local winery to picnic but we spent too much time in IKEA.  That store is so time consuming!  We did manage to get a healthy lunch from The Nugget along with a special “mother’s day” treat.  I think the hubby was kind of taking advantage of this mother’s day thing.  He was pushing me a little to get a treat since it was my special day.  I didn’t contest too much when I saw they had red velvet cupcakes and white chocolate cake pops.

The hubby and I both agreed that I make way better red velvet cupcakes thanks to Paula Deene :-)  The white chocolate cake pop was delicious!  Guess we really should have gone on that run!

We stopped at Home Depot on our way home and bought some vegetable plants to put into our wine barrels.  They hubby has been working so hard to get the yard done by the love nugget’s birthday and I am so happy to say that today we finished!  For my first mother’s day I shoveled wood chips, planted veggies, moved rocks and cut down bushes.  It doesn’t sound as glamorous as getting a pedi/mani, but I am so happy to have it done!

Now that the love nugget is walking, all he wants to do is to cruise around out back while we are working.  He takes after the hubby (which scares me a little) and has no fear.  He’s been trying to climb up whatever he can, and get into everything within reach.  Not only that but he is totally all boy.  Dirt and all!

It’s a little hard to tell from this picture but he is covered in dirt.  He also has a bump and a scratch on his head from falling on the patio.  Although we couldn’t have easily missed it since he didn’t even cry! Like father like son!

For dinner tonight the hubby made me a delicious dinner of grilled shrimp and bell pepper kabobs, asparagus, and our favorite tomatoes, mozzarella, basil and balsamic vinaigrette.  Perfect dinner to enjoy out on our patio with a glass of unoaked chardonnay.

Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and a very special mother’s day!

Thought this was perfect for my dirty boy!

Pinned Image

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

